Rainbow

Imagine a rainbow set against the darkness of the clouds.  As beautiful as it is, it speaks as a sign of glory, grace and hope and it speaks of God’s guarantee to all the earth that there will never come another flood ever again.  The very elements that created the flood were now no longer in existence and instead this newly created ‘natural’ result was the very promise of God’s presence in our future storms and moments of darkness – a sign of God’s grace and glory.

I think heaven will be filled with colour.  Kind of wonder how many have the impression that heaven will be only white or mysterious opaque brilliancy.  While that could be true, I believe colour will also be part of heaven and the rainbow is just one example God has provided for us on earth as a taste of the beauty we look forward to. As a symbol of God’s promise to us on earth, the rainbow beams with the hope of heaven too.  The ultimate promise God makes is that for every believer, their home is in heaven.

That is the message I received as a ten-year old boy playing with my neighbour and friend after a storm.  As we were busy playing with mud, my neighbour’s dad came over and asked me if I knew what the rainbow meant and for every subsequent question my answer was always the same – no.  He stormed over to my parents, and the following Sunday was my first Sunday in Sunday School – the beginning of my spiritual journey – taken by our neighbours who introduced me to God via the rainbow.

God said, “This is the sign of the covenant that I make between me and you and every living creature that is with you, for all future generations:  I have set my bow in the clouds, and it shall be a sign of the covenant between me and the earth.  When I bring clouds over the earth and the bow is seen in the clouds,  I will remember my covenant that is between me and you and every living creature of all flesh; and the waters shall never again become a flood to destroy all flesh.  When the bow is in the clouds, I will see it and remember the everlasting covenant between God and every living creature of all flesh that is on the earth.” God said to Noah, “This is the sign of the covenant that I have established between me and all flesh that is on the earth.” – Genesis 9:12-17

Leave a Reply

