Restored

Aramaic Bible in Plain English
I have hoped in you, Lord Jehovah; I shall never be disappointed; deliver me in your righteousness! – Psalm 31:1

Aramaic Bible in Plain English
In you, Lord Jehovah, I have hope; I shall never be ashamed. – Psalm 71:1

If I am going to need a place of protection and safety, a strong fortress does it for me.  Probably because of my European background and the numerous castles I have visited make this so vivid for me.

In my meditative moments I even become aware that God is protecting me from plots, gossip and lies.  My praise changes as I am overcome with me frailty and just how much He loves me. My hope is only in Him if I am to survive.

It is not a bad thing to want to get away and go to a place of safety when we are under distress.  The only problem would be that my choice would not be God but rather something more destructive.

As safe as the fortress is, it can never be the place of permanent residence, not even for long periods of time.  The world is where we belong and we do not walk in fear but in God’s love.  The fortress is only for a time of recovery and healing. It is where my vision is renewed and my hope is restored.

Heavenly Father and Lord Jesus Christ we come into your presence seeking refuge and protection from a growing hostile environment. While there are those who seek to restrict or even to eradicate our presence in our community we understand that there are those who seek You and Your righteousness.  Give us guidance and lead us in bringing a message of hope to our community.  Amen.

In you, O Lord, I seek refuge; do not let me ever be put to shame; in your righteousness deliver me.  Incline your ear to me; rescue me speedily. Be a rock of refuge for me, a strong fortress to save me.  You are indeed my rock and my fortress; for your name’s sake lead me and guide me,  take me out of the net that is hidden for me, for you are my refuge.  Into your hand I commit my spirit; you have redeemed me, O Lord, faithful God. – Psalm 31:1-5

Psalm 31

Hope Restored: Ephesians

Leave a Reply

