Being in quiet

Aramaic Bible in Plain English
And he who hears me will dwell in hope and will be quiet from the multitude of evils. – Proverbs 1:33

Sometimes you wonder why hope does not exist more in dialogues.  Reading my Bible this morning, it was not until I read Proverbs 1 that I found more on hope than on hopelessness.  Other than the Aramaic translation, no one else I connected with saw verse 33 as one of hope.

The wisdom in Proverbs have the same form as the words used in the law and in the prophets, but it focuses more on wisdom versus foolishness and right living instead of sinful living. It does this in the hope of persuading readers to choose the right way instead of the path that leads to destruction.

I hope you can see that too and that I am not just stretching this to say something I want to say.

Because I have called and you refused, have stretched out my hand and no one heeded,  and because you have ignored all my counsel and would have none of my reproof, I also will laugh at your calamity; I will mock when panic strikes you, when panic strikes you like a storm, and your calamity comes like a whirlwind, when distress and anguish come upon you.  Then they will call upon me, but I will not answer; they will seek me diligently, but will not find me. Because they hated knowledge and did not choose the fear of the Lord,  would have none of my counsel, and despised all my reproof,  therefore they shall eat the fruit of their way and be sated with their own devices.  For waywardness kills the simple, and the complacency of fools destroys them;  but those who listen to me will be secure and will live at ease, without dread of disaster.” – Proverbs 1:24-33

Job 11:18