What will be after you?

“The Lord is my portion,” says my soul,
    “therefore I will hope in him.” – Lamentations 3:24

We can look to grace and the leading of the Holy Spirit to help us learn how to take the evil in this world and see it turned into good.  Since life and its earthly pursuits are without purpose, your hope is Jesus, who cannot disappoint.  Grace enables us to walk through this world of sin, sorrow, self-serving and troubles with wise indifference as we await our place to be prepared.  For Jesus Himself promised us who have missed His grace, those of us who are weary and burdened with this world’s care, to come to Him and He would give us rest.  He has graciously purposed Himself to be our joy.  So let us not be so earthly minded as to prefer the shadows, to be in love with our chains, to pursue phantoms and to reject the everlasting realities. 

Lord Jesus, do not only invite, but allure me with your grace.  You have birthed hope by your resurrection from the dead, and offer to us the inheritance of an incorruptible, purity, eternal life.  Today, lead me by the teaching influences of the Holy Spirit that I may set my sights on the heavenly things – may the things that matter to You, matter to me.

These are the questions that I can ask myself and others — 

  • Do I know the meaning of life and what will happen when I die?
  • Can I explain the good news of Jesus Christ to another person?
  • Does my life exude hope and purpose to my family members, coworkers, neighbors, and acquaintances?If not, why not?
  • How can I become a more contagious Christian?
  • What about “new” things? Is there any hope there? Is there anything altogether new?

As much as we need to learn how to live with evil, that is, to accept life in this cursed world with all of its labyrinths, we are called for something more.  We can choose between abandoned resignation or for mastery and both are poor choices for resignation entails fatalism and not faith and mastery is a form of striving that leaves one with a handful of air.  Rather we are called to obedient fear and humility before God who alone purposes everything.  I do not talk about false hopes too much, but in this case the idea that I read of “shepherding the wind” should be replaced with a confident enjoyment of His gifts which He gives in the few years we have on this earth.

How self-serving is it for us to contend with God.  Who contends with someone greater than themselves? Again, there is no hope for such purposes, yet even we, as followers of Christ, sometimes contend with Him.  If He permits us to be disappointed in our aspirations, we right away demand – “why is this?”  I think most of us have seen this getting carried away and carried on and on and on.  The end result unfortunately with the individual who would not forgive God.  That kind of rebellious spirit creates ten times more pain than the affliction itself. 

For who knows what is good for mortals while they live the few days of their vain life, which they pass like a shadow? For who can tell them what will be after them under the sun? – Ecclesiastes 6:12

Leave a Reply

