I am His and He is mine

Know that the Lord is God.
    It is he that made us, and we are his;[a]
    we are his people, and the sheep of his pasture. – Psalm 100:3

 As part of my ministry with Partners International I see a lot of orphans.  It enhances my own sense of belonging with my family.  It also makes me acknowledge that God is our Father.  Unfortunately, many do not and they see themselves as orphans in the sense they are accidents of nature with no purpose, meaning or hope.
Finest thing that ever man said, “My beloved is mine.”  “Look,” says the rich man, “do you see far away beyond those stately oaks, yonder? Do you see as far as that church spire? Well, as far as you can see, that is all mine!” “Ah,” says Death, as he lays his bony hand upon the man, “Six feet of earth, that is yours.”“Look,” says the scholar, as he points to the volumes on his shelves, “I have searched through all these and all the learning that is there is mine.” “Ah,” says Death, again, as he smites him with his cold hand, “who can tell the difference between the skull of the learned and the skull of the ignorant when the worm has emptied them both?” But the Christian, when he can point upwards and say, “I love my Savior,” has a possession which is surely his forever! Death may come, and will come, even to him, but all that Death can do is open the door to admit the Christian into still fuller enjoyment of that which was already his. “My beloved is mine.” So although I may have but little, I will be satisfied with it! And though I may be so poor that the world will pass me by and never notice me, yet I will live quite content in the most humble possible obscurity because, “my beloved is mine,” and He is more than all the world to me! “Whom have I in Heaven but You? And there is none upon earth that I desire beside You.” Now I want to stop and see whether we have really got as far as this. How many of us have said, “My beloved is mine”? I am afraid there may be some poor Christian here who says, “Ah, I cannot say that.” Now, my dear hearer, I will ask you a question—Do you cling to Christ? Is He your only hope? If so, then He is yours! When the tide goes down, have you ever seen the limpets clinging to the rocks, or holding fast, perhaps, to the pier? Now, is that what your faith does with Christ? Do you cling to Him? Is He all your trust? Do you rest on Him? Well then, if you do, you do not need any other mark or sign—that one is quite enough—if you are clinging to Christ, then Christ is yours! She who did but touch the hem of His garment received the virtue which came out of Him. If you can cling to Him and, putting away every other confidence and renouncing all other trust, can say, “Yes, if I perish, I will cling to Christ alone,” then do not let a single doubt come in to take away the comfort of your soul, for your beloved is yours! – Spurgeon

I am my beloved’s and my beloved is mine; he pastures his flock among the lilies. – Song of Solomon 6:3

Owl City – In Christ Alone (I Stand)

 

Leave a Reply

