I give you what I have

The encounter of Peter and John with the lame man at the gate of the temple was a testimony to the confidence, courage and conviction that had filled them both.  They knew it was their turn to start giving and with words that extended to the lame man hope, faith and confidence, they gave willingly and without hesitation.

People can be more open to a message of hope when their lives are shaken.  We need to be sensitive and recognize that we are in front of them because God wants them to hear the gospel and wants the Holy Spirit to do a work in that person’s life.

So it was with this lame man – a presentation of salvation – a broken state where God’s grace desires to touch and heal.  Our sins block us from God, but just as Peter reached out to the lame man, giving him more than he hoped or asked for, so Jesus has taken the initiative to come to each of us. God seeks us out.

It was many years ago in St. Louis, that a lawyer visited a Christian to transact some business. Just before the two parted, his client said to him, “I’ve often wanted to ask you a question, but I’ve been afraid to do so.” “What do you want to know?” asked the lawyer. The man replied, “I’ve wondered why you’re not a believer.” The man hung his head. “I know enough about the Bible to realize that it says no drunkard can enter the kingdom of God; and you know my weakness!” “You’re avoiding my question,” continued his friend the believer. “Well, truthfully, I can’t recall anyone every explaining how to become a Christian.” Picking up a bible, the client read some passages describing everyone’s guilt, but that Christ came to save the lost by dying on the cross for their sins. “By receiving Him as your substitute and redeemer,” he said, “you can be forgiven. If you are willing to repent and receive Jesus we should pray together now.” The lawyer agreed, and where it was his turn he exclaimed, “Jesus, I am a slave to drink. One of your servants has shown me how to be saved. O God, forgive my sins and help me overcome the power of this terrible habit in my life.” Right there he was converted. That lawyer was C.I. Scofield, who later edited the reference bible that still bears his name.

Now Peter and John were going up to the temple at the hour of prayer, the ninth hour. And a man lame from birth was being carried, whom they laid daily at that gate of the temple which is called Beautiful to ask alms of those who entered the temple.  Seeing Peter and John about to go into the temple, he asked for alms.  And Peter directed his gaze at him, with John, and said, “Look at us.”  And he fixed his attention upon them, expecting to receive something from them.  But Peter said, “I have no silver and gold, but I give you what I have; in the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth, walk.”  And he took him by the right hand and raised him up; and immediately his feet and ankles were made strong.  And leaping up he stood and walked and entered the temple with them, walking and leaping and praising God.  And all the people saw him walking and praising God, and recognized him as the one who sat for alms at the Beautiful Gate of the temple; and they were filled with wonder and amazement at what had happened to him. – Acts 3:1-10

