Do not fear

The story of Joshua’s attack on the city of Ai has elements of loss and victory, laying out very well the cost of the curse and the blessing.  It reminds me of the blessing and productivity that can come into and through my life when I deal with sin and confess it.

It is through the cleansing blood of Jesus that God daily offers me the assurance that I never need to fear the Day of Judgment.  Because of Jesus, God forgives me, heals me and gives me hope that is eternal. It is the name of Jesus that brings the presence of God and the blessing of protection in my heart and home – driving out all fear.

 

That is what I need – the Lord giving hope, comfort and encouragement – even before giving commands of action.  For the Lord always equips us to obey and takes away the crippling fear and discouragement as we start each day.

Then the Lord said to Joshua, “Do not fear or be dismayed; take all the fighting men with you, and go up now to Ai. See, I have handed over to you the king of Ai with his people, his city, and his land.  You shall do to Ai and its king as you did to Jericho and its king; only its spoil and its livestock you may take as booty for yourselves. Set an ambush against the city, behind it.” – Joshua 8:1-2

Do Not Fear to Hope – a video reflection

Leave a Reply

